St Wendrona is a granite-built church as befits any church in this mining district, set on a horrendous bend in the road in the middle of what passes for the village.
The approach is through a charming little lychgate gatehouse which would only hold a small vestry meeting, if called upon to do so.
The path to the pinnacled and embattled porch is flanked by the remains of a very early and unusual cross with bosses, and a sundial on a pillar set at a height that one can hardly read the dial.
Inside, the church is unplastered and consists of a nave, south aisle and north transept. It was sympathetically restored in 1867-79 by Edmund and JD Sedding. They retained the wagon roof in the south aisle and managed to replicate one in the nave, avoiding the temptation to install the wind-braced roofs used elsewhere.
There are three early monuments: two brasses and a very early tomb in a recess, all in the chancel.
The north transept has been retained as a Lady chapel with the organ at the end of the south aisle instead.
This highlights the problem of inserting an organ into an existing space. Solutions vary but usually it is squeezed into a transept or hidden behind a screen at the end of one of the two aisles in larger churches. Just occasionally, they are placed at the west end, using the tower undercroft or the end of one of the aisles. Rarely is the placing really comfortable.
Don’t miss the C14 font, the bell ringer’s charter, the poor box pillar and the various crosses.